Structure in Delillo

In reading “Falling Man”, I have a hard time following sequences of events within chapters. The narrator stops one story, mid chapter, to carry on another one without any prelude. For example, on page 100, the break in between the poker game and the trip to Utah talked about by Keith and Lianne. This is symbolic many ways of the chaos to which was experienced by the city on 9/11, however, it doesn’t do much for my reading. I understand the pattern Delillo is trying to set up, but personally, I find this frustrating.

In addition, I wanted to talk about the men playing poker, creating rules about everything. I see a comparison in this section between how the men respond to poker, and the Islamic extremists in several chapters prior, and as well to how the U.S reacted in the wake of the attack. Keith begins to think all the rules are stupid, and eventually the men break down, unable to continue playing with food and polish vodka versus their classic dark liquors, and beers without food. This is pertinent to my last post, where I talked about the national reaction to the 9/11 attacks. We see these reactions manifest themselves very early in everyday life through Delillo’s characters. Keith, Lianne and others – especially Lianne’s alzheimer’s group begin having extreme difficulties with everyday tasks like thinking and putting on watches. This relates heavily to my last post in which I talked about remembrance being burdensome and hindering any sort of movement forward.

Leave a Reply

