Questioning Homebodies

Through this opening monologue, I can’t help but think of how this woman, just sitting in her chair, is performing the very definition of being a “homebody.” She is seated there, making few gestures, while captivating her audience with rambling and facts. Her seated there is a symbol in itself of “woman” as a homebody. When people say “oh, I’m a homebody myself,” they mean that they enjoy more to be home, with their families or books. This woman is keeping herself in that state of being a homebody because she finds more thrill, it seems, in the book in her hands, rather than the outside air. I’ve been to London myself and I can’t imagine just sitting in a room all day, book in hand, and enjoying that lifestyle. I pulled a quote I found on page 28:

“Where stands the homebody, safe in her kitchen, on her culpable shower, suffereing uselessly watching others perishing in the sea, wringing her plump little maternal hands, oh, oh. Never joining the drowning. Her feet, neither rooted nor moving. The ocean is deep and cold and erasing. But how dreadful, really unpardonable, to remain dry.”

I believe she is trying to say that the world looks scary and maybe it is just easier for some people to watch others drown or swim, as long as they stay dry and away from them. It’s as though they take more pleasure it witnessing what is going on around them and never actually experiencing it themself.  But later on that page, she expresses that fact that she is somewhat ashamed of these feels as she tells the audience to keep it a secret from her daughter.  I am confused by that. But she speaks of corruption. That probably takes it back to the central context of the play which I need more information on.

I am not sure what the rest of the play is going to be like at this point, but again, I do need to do more research on this context that is being set up here. I don’t know much about the terrorism and the wars that went on with these groups she is mentioning, which is most likely important to understand the connection, but for now, I wanted to look into the more obvious themes that are taking place here -the idea of “a homebody” and what they are thinking.

I found this forum online– http://www.experienceproject.com/groups/Am-A-Homebody/22082

I started reading this people’s blogs just to find out what they are truly thinking. I found some that said they like to sit at home once a week and relax… who doesn’t like to do that? I was more interested in finding people that were true homebodies and don’t ever like to leave the house. One of the bloggers said they lived in their area for twenty+ years and couldn’t even tell you who their neighbors were. They said that they get motion sickness when they are out and crowds make them nervous. How interesting. They said they stay in with their cat, listen to music, read… etc. Most of the other bloggers talked about their comfort zone and being alone is easy and comforting. I am so intrigued by these people writing because I am so much of a not-homebody. I go out, I see my friends… I love it! I take trips and I get lost in crowds… it’s just fun! Yeah, I stay home on Sunday’s and lay with my cat, but I would never say I was a “homebody” at all!

However, I don’t want to think there is anything wrong with being a homebody… I just want to know more about this character and why she stays in. Since she is on so many anti-depressants, I find it odd that she stays home like that and fantasies about the ancient times she is sharing with us. Hey, Eddie Murphy admits to being a homebody and he’s pretty cool in my book! But there is definitely more to the people who claim to be homebodies, especially our character in this play… and I can’t wait to find out what it is!

and that picture is from blogto.com   its a photo of one of the many performances done of the play… I wanted to add it in!

Leave a Reply

