Far Away

I learned a lot in my three months in London, but something that I found absolutely interesting was that the British people love a political play. The director of my program told me that he tried to see the newest political play as often as he could. His wife and him love to see a show and then hold an extensive conversation about what the current struggles were. I feel as though they would have both found this play to be absolutely wonderful, and my guess is that they went to go see this very play be put on.  I did see a political play entitled, 13 by Mark Bartlett while I was over there.  I encountered the same feelings after reading this play, Far Away by Caryl Churchill, as I had after I saw the play at Her Majesty’s Theatre; I had no idea what was going on because I was not educated in it’s political context. I do know that countries struggle with government interventions, so I imagine that this play is about the Brits’ problems or fears, but I don’t know too much more for I am not an expert.

One key element that I think is important is the use of questioning between Joan and Todd.  The way they converse drew my attention.  Once Joan would ask a question and Todd would change the subject could symbolize something more.  Maybe it could symbolize how there are unresolved issues between the people and the government.  It could also express the need for answers but there aren’t straight answers that are to be given.  Either way, I know that the use of questions is relevant.  I also feel as though Joan’s aunt doesn’t give straight answers either, maybe displaying how the people you think you can trust isn’t so correct.  Joan is a young girl, innocent in her beliefs and thoughts, and her aunt knows just how to manipulate her so that she doesn’t see the wrong.  Her aunt blames other factors while explaining how her uncle “wasn’t hurting” those children.  Harper blames that they are in hiding or that sometimes her uncle “works late” or was having a party, instead of stating what is really going on.  That may symbolize how the government tells the public something, but tells it slant…

Like I said, I’m not an expert by any means, but those elements definitely tell more than just the story that’s on the paper.

Review of Far Away   http://www.guardian.co.uk/stage/2010/may/28/far-away-review

Far Away by Caryl Churchill

Absurdist horror ... Annette Badland and Eleanor Bailey as young Joan in Far Away by Caryl Churchill. Photograph: Donald Cooper

Review of 13   http://www.guardian.co.uk/stage/2011/oct/26/13-review

Leave a Reply

