Comical Autobiography

When first opening this book my initial thought was something like, “What the hell is this?”  I thought this was a joke that my book looked like a comic book and wondered how could I take whatever is going to be said in this novel seriously?  Honestly, I thought that this layout was going to completely take away from my overall meaning of the text.  However, I was terribly wrong.  I really like how Satrapi decided to illustrate everything that she has gone through during her childhood.  I believe that it is crucial for her readers to not only read about her autobiography, but also to see it and interpret it through something else besides just words on paper.  Each image that I would look at after reading the captions would enhance or even alter how I would interpret or understand what Satrapi was discussing.  This not only allowed me to connect with what she had to say, but connect with it on a deeper level because I was made witness to it through her illustrations as well.

These images give us a dual role while reading Satrapi’s memoir.  I, not only felt that I had to ask myself to be a diligent reader, however I felt the need to put myself directly into the story itself and mentally experience all that Satrapi did.  I was able to adapt and connect to different characters in ways that I wouldn’t normally be able to by just reading and I feel as though this was what Satrapi wanted her readers to experience.

Leave a Reply

